US Forest Service


To sustain the health, diversity, and productivity of the nation’s forests and grasslands to meet the needs of present and future generations.


The Forest Reserve Act of 1891 allowed the president to designate public lands in the West as Forest Reserves. The US Forest Service was officially created by President Theodore Roosevelt in 1905. The president transferred the management of all forest reserve, eventually renamed national forests, to the new department under the Department of Agriculture.

Gifford Pinchot was the first Chief of the Forest Service. He viewed the agency’s mission as “to provide the greatest amount of good for the greatest amount of people in the long run.”

Currently, the USFS manages 154 national forests and 20 grasslands, encompassing 439 wilderness areas.

To learn more, visit the US Forest Service website.

To support your forests and grasslands, please visit The National Forest Foundation.

National Forest Adventures